• YWCA Elgin seeks Leader Luncheon Award nominees

    YWCA Elgin seeks Leader Luncheon Award nominees

    The YWCA Elgin will host its 37th  Annual Leader Luncheon on Thursday, May 14, 2020 at The Seville in Streamwood. Individuals, clubs, and organizations are invited to nominate deserving women and non-binary individuals for this prestigious award! Women and non-binary individuals who have been nominated in past years may be re-nominated.

    Recipients will be awarded at the luncheon with Sharon Bush of the Grand Victoria Foundation as the keynote speaker.

    The Leader Luncheon, chaired this year by Mary Rees Freeman of South Elgin,  is attended by hundreds of community leaders, business representatives and volunteers. Nominations are now open to honor women and non-binary individuals from the Elgin area who have made significant contributions in the following categories:

    · Margaret Hillis Award for the Arts: Ms. Hillis was the Elgin Symphony Orchestra music director for 14 years and conducted the Chicago Symphony Chorus for 35 years. 

    · Beatrice Dorsey Award for Business and Professions: A successful local business
    woman for 45 years, Ms. Dorsey was instrumental in assisting women to succeed in business. 

    · Marguerite Henry Award for Communications & Technology: Author of over 50 books including children’s classics, Ms. Henry held many prestigious national literacy awards. 

    · Harriet Gifford & Hattie Griffin Award for Education: Ms. Gifford established the first school in Elgin in 1836, initiating the foundation for local educational systems.  Co-founder of the YWCA Elgin, Hattie Griffin, was an educator for over 50 years.

    · Myrtle Spiegler Award for Public Service: As the first woman to assume the position of Elgin City Clerk, Ms. Spiegler designed the city flag and paved the way for women to actively participate in the field of public service. 

    · Betty Brown Award for Racial Justice: As a community leader and activist, Betty Brown laid the ground work for the earliest racial equality movements in Elgin, IL. 

    · Marie Grolich Award for Social Service: As executive director of the YWCA of Elgin for 20 years, Ms. Grolich spearheaded many innovative programs to benefit the entire community. 

    · Marjorie Leonard Award for Volunteer & Community Service: As a volunteer and humanitarian, Ms. Leonard donated countless hours to civic organizations and social agencies. 

    Do you know a woman or non-binary individual in the Elgin area that has demonstrated qualities of leadership and commitment to excellence in any of the above categories?  Now is the time to nominate them for a YWCA Elgin Leader Luncheon Award and the prestige of joining a group of dynamic leaders who have received recognition. 

    Deadline for submissions is Thursday, March 5, 2020 at midnight.  Nomination forms are available online at ywcaelgin.ywca.org/LL. Call the YWCA Elgin at 847.742.7930 for more information, to purchase tickets to the event, or to become a sponsor.