• The Elgin Area Chamber of Commerce works with state and local governments and elected officials to ensure businesses have a seat at the table where they do business. Trust in business is especially high at the local level, and the Elgin Area Chambers of Commerce plays an important role by fostering strong partnerships that enable employers to grow, thrive, and strengthen their communities.

  • Municipal Governments Municipal Governments

    Municipal Governments

  • David Kaptain, Mayor, City of Elgin

  • Elgin Council-Manager Government

    The Elgin City Council is a nonpartisan elected body comprised of one mayor and eight city council members who are elected to four-year terms to serve at-large. The at-large structure means that the Mayor and each City Council Member serve the entire community, which is different than some cities that elect council members by ward or district. The part-time Mayor and City Council appoint a City Manager, its one full-time employee, to run the day-to-day operations.

    • Richard Kozal, City Manager | Email | Phone: 847-931-5590
    • David Kaptain, Mayor | Email | Cell phone 847-385-4478
    • Corey Dixon, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 847-450-3302
    • Dustin Good, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 224-636-0996 
    • Rosamaria Martinez, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 847-302-7961
    • Tish S. Powell, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 224-388-6343
    • Carol J. Rauschenberger, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 847-857-0251
    • Toby Shaw, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 847-450-3432
    • F. John Steffen, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 847-741-0503
    • Steve Thoren, Council Member | Email | Cell phone 847-840-7319

    Mailing Address:
    150 Dexter Court | Elgin, IL 60120-5570 | Phone: 847-931-5590

    The City Council meets every second and fourth Wednesday at 6:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers, located on the second floor of City Hall. Agenda and minutes are available online. Residents may attend in person at City Hall, watch the live video stream, or view replays on Channel 17/99


  • Steve Ward, Village President, South Elgin

  • South Elgin Board of Trustees

    The Village of South Elgin was incorporated in 1897 and us a non-home rule municipality. The Village is governed by an elected president and six elected board of trustees. 

    • Steve Ward, Village President | Email
    • Margo Gray, Village Clerk | Email
    • Chriss Merritt, Trustee | Email
    • Mike Koldziej, Trustee | Email
    • Lisa Guess, Trustee | Email
    • Jennifer Barconi, Trustee | Email
    • Scott Richmond, Trustee | Email
    • Greg Lieser, Trustee | Email

    Mailing Address:
    Village Board of Trustees
    10 N. Water Street | South Elgin, IL  60103 | (847) 742-5780

    See South Elgin's Meeting & Events Calendar for information about the dates and times of Village Board and Committee & Commission meetings




  • Township Government Township Government

  • Townships are required by law to perform three functions:  general assistance, property assessment and road and bridge maintenance.  Many provide a variety of services beyond the three mandated functions including programs for senior citizens, disabled citizens, youth, relief, health, emergency, cemeteries, and environmental services. 

    • Elgin is served by Elgin, Plato and Hanover Townships.
    • South Elgin is served by Elgin and Saint Charles Townships. 

    If you are unsure which township you are served by, check your tax bill.

  • Plato-Township.fw.png


  • County Governments County Governments

    County Governments

  • Most of Elgin lies within Kane County, Illinois, with a portion in Cook County. South Elgin lies in Kane County. 

  • Kane County


  • Cook County


  • Illinois State Government Illinois State Government

    Illinois State Government


  • Elgin Area State Officials

  • Federal Government Area Officials Federal Government Area Officials

    Federal Government Area Officials